Dept. of Psychiatry

Invitation numéro special/Invitation special issue: “Frontiers in Psychiatry” sur le thème/on the topic: “Community-Based Outreach Treatment for Addictions and Concomitant Disorders: Time for a Change of Paradigm”

“With an Impact Factor of 3.532, Frontiers in Psychiatry is the 5th most cited open-access journal in Psychiatry”.                                                   


Published on: 11 Apr 2018

Congratulations to Jay Olson, Psychiatry PhD candidate, winner of this year's McGill 3MT competition!

Published on: 5 Apr 2018

Dear colleagues,

It is with great sadness that I am writing to inform you that our colleague and friend Fiona Key left us on Sunday morning, March 4th.

Fiona was born in Glasgow, Scotland and came to the Children's in 1976 as a trained pediatrician for her fellowship in Pediatrics. It is here that she came in contact with Child Psychiatry and she decided to change career plans.

Fiona was a rock of our Department where she served patients and their families with passion and dedication.

Published on: 23 Mar 2018

McGill MedStar Program (September—December  2017)

Marie-Helene Doucet, PhD candidate,  Understanding the motivations of healthcare providers in performing female genital multilation: an integrative review of the literature

Eszter Szekely, Postdoc,  Defining the neural substrate of the Adult Outcome of Childhood ADHD: A Multimodal Neuroimaging Study of Response Inhibition

Leonora King, PhD Candidate,  Perinatal depression and DNA methylation of oxytocin-related genes: a study of mothers and their children

Published on: 23 Mar 2018

A new experiment on the healing power of suggestion and placebo neuroscience by Prof Samuel Veissière, PhD and Jay Olson, MSc (Department of Psychiatry) is featured in Season 2 of the popular science series Mind Field.

To watch the trailer, visit:

The full video can be purchased through the trailer.

Published on: 21 Dec 2017

To watch this year's 2017 Departmental Day on Cannabis in Canada: What do we know? What can we expect? please visit:

Published on: 6 Dec 2017

Congratulations to all the students who received a Graduate Excellence Fellowship in Mental Health Research.

Published on: 1 Dec 2017

Dear Residents and Faculty, 

On behalf of the Postgraduate Residency Training Program and the Department of Psychiatry, we would like to congratulate all the winners of the 2017 Annual Awards Night. 


Dr. Leon Tourian


Psychiatry Residency Program

Awards night 2017


Staff Prizes

Best Role Model

Published on: 1 Dec 2017

Une des plus grandes banques de cerveaux humains au monde se trouve à Montréal. Des chercheurs des quatre coins de la planète ont recourt à ses services pour analyser des échantillons prélevés sur plus de 3000 spécimens. On est allés rencontrer le psychiatre Gustavo Turecki de la Banque Douglas-Bell Canada pour visiter les laboratoires et en apprendre plus sur ses études sur le suicide et la dépression.

Published on: 4 Oct 2017

Congratulations to Dr. Eric Latimer who was awarded the 2017 Royal College McLaughlin Gallie Visiting Professorship.

To read more, please visit (Profs from the UK & Montreal net 2017 visiting professorships) or (Des enseignants du R.-U. et de Montréal parmi les professeurs invités de 2017).

Published on: 13 Jun 2017

Douglas Institute Students

Oral Presentations:

1st (Prix d'excellence du FRQ-S): Scott Bell (Dr. Carl Ernst's lab)

2nd: Chloé Nobis (Dr. Nicolas Cermakian's lab)

3rd: Santiago Cuesta (Cecilia Flores' lab)


Poster Presentations:

1st: Abdelhalim Elsiekh (Dr. Natasha Rajah's lab)

2nd: Lauren Reynolds (Dr. Cecilia Flores' lab)


McGill Graduate Psychiatry Students:

Oral Presentations:

Published on: 7 Jun 2017


Sarah McIlwaine

Tatiana Sanchez

Johnson ying

Jishian Ravinthiran



Nevicia Case

Manal El Deb

Kathleen MacDonald


Resident - research

Dr. Anthony Gifuni (Phase I)



Published on: 23 May 2017

Dr. Srividya Iyer has been selected as the laureate of the 2017 Maude Abbott Prize!

This award was established in 2010 by the Faculty of Medicine in order to recognize outstanding female faculty members at an early career stage who have excelled in education, research or administration.



Published on: 19 May 2017