Phishing scam: "Confirm your account."

News

There is a phishing email targeting the McGill community, with the subject  "Confirm your account.". The message states that the recipient's account has been locked due to a verification process that is being enforced. To re-activate the account, the recipient is asked to click on a fraudulent link. See an example of this phishing message below.

Please DO NOT click on the link or reply to the message. Delete this email immediately! It does NOT come from a McGill source.

This email is a fraudulent attempt to gain access to your personal information. If you have already clicked on the link in this email and submitted any personal information, you should change your McGill Password as soon as possible. See the McGill Password Reset Checklist for instructions.

Example of this phishing message:


Subject: Confirm your account.

Dear customer,

We regret to announce that we have locked your account and all features of our service during our verification.

Please login to your account as soon as posible and you will be take to our website for fast verification process in order to reinstate your account

Login Now [fraudulent link]

Apple Support ,

Best Regards

 


What to do when you receive a suspicious email

If you have received a phishing email or suspect that you have:

  1. Check the list of known IT Security Alerts
  2. If you don't see the one you received, itsupport [at] mcgill.ca (contact the IT Service Desk) immediately to report it. Be sure to attach the suspicious message so they can verify its content.

Quick links: