Meet McGill University Honorary Doctorates 2017


Each year McGill University proudly confers honorary degrees to highly talented and engaged individuals who serve as an inspiration for the community of students, professors, researchers and staff. This year, McGill will honour two Nobel prizes winners, Arthur McDonald and Paul Nurse, and two former prime ministers of Canada, the Right Honourable Paul Martin and the Right Honourable Brian Mulroney. The school will celebrate the passion and creativity of two Quebec artists: filmmaker Alanis Obomsawin and Maestro Yannick Nézet-Séguin. It will mark the achievements of two groundbreakers: Kathleen Taylor, the first woman to chair the board of a major Canadian bank, and Stephen Toope, the first non-British vice-chancellor of Cambridge University.

Read more: The Suburban