Please scroll down below to see a listing of PROMOTIONS, HONOURS and DEPARTMENT OF MEDICINE AWARDS.


Associate Professor:

Dr. Marc Béïque
Dr. Talat Bessissow
Dr. Marta Kaminska
Dr. Donald Laporta
Dr. Constantine Soulellis
Dr. Evelyne Vinet

Full Professor:

Will be announced in May 2019

Emeritus Professor: 



Associate Professor (with tenure):




Dr. Alan Barkun received the 2019-2020 Visiting Clinical Professorship Award from the Canadian Association of Gastroenterology. He has also been named the Gene and Lyn Overholt Lecturer by the American Society for Gastrointestinal Endoscopy.

Dr. John Bergeron has been inducted as Chevalier de l'Ordre national du Québec.

Dr. Marcel Behr has been elected as Fellow of the American Society of Microbiology.

Dr. Sasha Bernatsky is the recipient of The Arthritis Alliance of Canada's 2018 Knowledge Translation Practice Award.

Dr. James Brophy has been elected to the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences.

Drs. Sylvia and Richard Cruess have been selected as the 2018 recipients of the Abraham Flexner Award for Distinguished Service to Medical Education.

Dr. Dale Dauphinee was appointed as a member of the Order of Canada.

Dr. Mark Eisenberg, along with colleagues Drs. Jacqueline Joza and Jonathan Afilalo published a new cardiology textbook.

Dr. Abraham Fuks was appointed as a member of the Order of Canada.

Dr. Christina Greenaway is amongst the named in the first-ever List of Canadian Women Leaders in Global Health. 

Dr. Theresa Gyorkos is amongst the named in the first-ever List of Canadian Women Leaders in Global Health.

Dr. Thomas Maniatis was nominated Chair of the Royal College Specialty Committee in Internal Medicine. 

Dr. Emily McDonald was recognized as the 2018 winner of the Prix Jeune femme en sport, santé et mieux-être by the Women's Y Foundation.

Dr. Nitika Pai has been elected to the College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists of the Royal Society of Canada. She is also amongst the named in the first-ever List of Canadian Women Leaders in Global Health.

Dr. Morag Park, and colleague Dr. Lorenzo Ferri, are amongst recipients of a $34 millon Grand Challenge Grant from Cancer Research UK.

Dr. David Rosenblatt has been selected as the 2018 recipient of the Canadian College of Medical Geneticists (CCMG) Founders' Award for Career Achievement.

Dr. Linda Snell is a newly elected Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians of London. 

Dr. Samy Suissa has been elected as Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada. 

Dr. Robyn Tamblyn is the recipient of the Justice Emmett Hall Memorial Foundation 2018 hall Laureate and the 2018 IHPME Peggy Leatt Award. 

Dr. George Thanassoulis received the Heart & Stroke John J. Day M.D. Award of excellence. 



The JGH Department of Medicine Staff and Residents Awards Year-End Party - Congratulations to the recipients:

Dave Feder Award 
Resident who most practices medicine with compassion and sensitivity.
Dr. Natasha Nathoo

Sheldon Zemelman Memorial Award
For academic excellence and outstanding contribution to patient care.
Dr. Julie D'Aoust and Dr. Ismail Raed Raslan

Dr. Allen Spanier Internal Medicine Award 
Resident who exhibits an enduring passion for the practice of medicine.
Dr. Suhaib Radi 

Teacher of the Year voted by the residents
Dr. Ruxandra Bunea

Fellow of the Year Award
Dr. Michael Chetrit


Congratulations to this year’s recipients who were recognized at the MUHC Departmental Annual Dinner. Photo gallery of this event.

Physician-in-Chief Award 
For Outstanding Service to the MUHC Department
Dr. Richard (Rick) Fraser

Department of Medicine Physicianship Award 
Exemplary Physician
Dr. Neil Colman
Dr. Dana Baran

Outreach Award 
Attending Staff, Teams or Residents sho enhance links between the MUHC and the community
Dr. Donald Vinh

Department of Medicine Award 
For Research by a Subspecialty Resident
Dr. Arielle Mendel

MUHC Department of Medicine Staff Research Award 
Dr. Jean Bourbeau

MUHC Department of Medicine Early Career Staff Research Award 
Dr. Donald Vinh

The Louis G. Johnson Award   
For Excellence in Teaching by a Medical Resident – selected by RVH residents
Dr. Sarah MacIssac 

The Lorne E. Cassidy Award 
For Excellence in Teaching by a Medical Resident – selected by MGH residents
Dr. Abdulrhman Abulaban

The Douglas G. Kinnear Award 
Outstanding Clinician-Teacher
Dr. Ning-Zi Sun

The W.H. Philip Hill Award 
Outstanding Clinician-Teacher
Dr. Patrick Willemot

MUHC Department of Medicine Award for Innovation in Clinical Care or Quality 
Dr. Elizabeth Hazel

McGill Residency Training Program Awards

Residency Research Evening Award 
For Research by a McGill Core Internal Medicine Resident
Dr. Arielle Elkrief
Dr. Shen Li (2)
Dr. Sana Swaleh (3)

The Harold Frank Prize 
For excellence in a Clinical Case Presentation
Winner of the Clinical Vignettes evening
Dr. Ariane Barbacki

St. Mary's Awards

Physician-in-Chief's Award 
Dr. Sean Pallay

Mervyn James Robson Memorial Award 
Dr. Talia Abecassis