REPORT* OF THE SENATE NOMINATING COMMITTEE TO SENATE McGILL UNIVERSITY

*Recommendations arising from the January 15, 2008 meeting

I. FOR APPROVAL BY SENATE AS RECOMMENDED BY SENATE NOMINATING COMMITTEE

1. SENATE STANDING COMMITTEES

HONORARY DEGREES AND CONVOCATIONS COMMITTEE (HDCC)

It is recommended that the following student be appointed to serve on the HDCC: Johanna Devaney, PhD student in Music to replace Sina Gallo who declined the nomination.

2. STATUTORY SELECTION COMMITTEES

It is recommended that the following be appointed as representatives of Senate on Statutory Selection Committes:

a) For a professor in the Department of Integrated Studies in Education

Professor Robert Bracewell (Department of Educational and Counselling Psychology)
Professor Susanne Lajoie (Department of Educational and Counselling Psychology) [alternate]

Professor Shari Baum (School of Communication Sciences and Disorders) Professor Fred Genesee (Department of Psychology) [alternate]

b) For a professor in the Department of Pediatrics

Professor Gerald Batist (Department of Oncology)
Professor Roland Del Maestro (Department of Neurology and Neurosurgery) [alternate]

Professor Catherine Walsh (Faculty of Law)
Professor Blaine Ditto (Department of Psychology) [alternate]

c) For a librarian in the McGill University Libraries

Professor Carman Miller (Department of History)
Professor David Ronis (Department of Chemistry) [alternate]

Professor James Hanley (Department of Epidemiology, Biostatistics and Occupational Health)
Professor David Lowther (Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering) [alternate]

d) For a professor in the Department of Music Research

Professor John Grew (Department of Performance)
Professor Gordon Foote (Department of Performance) [alternate]

Professor Robert Zatorre (Department of Neurology and Neurosurgery)
Professor Jacques Hurtubise (Department of Mathematics and Statistics) [alternate]

e) For a professor in the Department of Performance

Professor John Rea (Department of Music Research)
Professor Wieslaw Woszczyk (Department of Music Research) [alternate]

Professor Peter McNally (Graduate School of Library and Information Studies)
Professor James Clark (Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering) [alternate]

3. ADVISORY COMMITTEES

ADVISORY COMMITTEE FOR THE SELECTION OF A VICE-PRINCIPAL (DEVELOPMENT AND ALUMNI RELATIONS)

It is recommended that the following be appointed as representatives of Senate on the Advisory Committee for the Selection of a Vice-Principal (DAR):

Dean Peter Todd
Dean Christophe Pierre
Professor David Harpp
Professor Sarah Stroud
Professor Richard Levin [Alternate]

II. FOR INFORMATION OF SENATE

1. APPOINTMENT OF ALTERNATE CHAIRS FOR THE UNIVERSITY TENURE COMMITTEE

It is recommended that the following be appointed as alternate chairs for the Faculty of Management and the McGill University Libraries in the event that the Dean or Director is unable to chair the University Tenure Committee, or is disqualified for cause of conflict or interest:

a) For the Faculty of Management University Tenure Committee:

Professor Vihang Errunza was approved by Nominating and reported to Senate in the fall, but is not a faculty representative on the UTC and as a result, does not qualify as a UTC chair. The faculty of Management has put forth **Professor Kris Jacobs** as the alternate chair.

b) For the University Libraries University Tenure Committee:

Adam Gacek was approved by Nominating and reported to Senate in the spring, but is not eligible as he is not on the UTC. Janine Schmidt has put forth **Louisa Piatti** as the alternate chair.

Present: Prof. Anthony Masi, Dean Chandra Madramootoo, Dean Christopher Manfredi, Dean Christophe Pierre, Dean Martin Kreiswirth, Dean Richard Levin, Dean Martin Grant, Prof. Vikram Bhatt, Ms. Kathryn Peterson, Prof. Robert Bracewell, Prof. Beverlea Tallant, Prof. Timothy Moore, Prof. John Kurien, Prof. Ronald Gehr, Mr. Marc Richard, Prof. Maria Zannis-Hadjopoulos, Mr. Adrian Angus, Ms. Johanne Pelletier.

Regrets: Principal Heather Munroe-Blum, Prof. lan Butler, Mr. Harry Karmouty.