Faculty- and Department-based Teaching Awards

There are a number of Faculty-based awards for University teaching. Some are awarded on a periodic basis, while others are awarded fairly consistently. If your specific Faculty or teaching unit has an award, please tls [at] mcgill.ca (contact us) so that we can create a link to this information.

Some annually awarded Faculty-based teaching awards include:

Desautels Faculty of Management

Distinguished Teaching Award

Faculty of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences

Award for Teaching Excellence

Faculty of Arts

H. Noel Fieldhouse Award for Distinguished Teaching

Louis Dudek Award for Excellence in Teaching

Faculty of Engineering

Awards for Outstanding Teaching

Faculty of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies

Carrie M. Derick Award for Excellence in Graduate Supervision & Teaching

David Thomson Award for Excellence in Graduate Supervision & Teaching

Faculty of Law

The Durnford Teaching Excellence Award

Faculty of Medicine

Clinical Teaching Award in Neurology

Faculty Honour List for Educational Excellence  - Past and Present Honourees

Haile T. Debas Prize & Maude Abbott Prize

Howard S. Katz Award for Excellence in Teaching

Human Genetics

Osler Teaching Award & Department of Psychiatry Teaching Award

W.W.Wood Award for Excellence in Teaching

Faculty of Science

Leo Yaffe Award for Excellence in Teaching

School of Continuing Studies

Award for Distinguished Teaching

Schulich School of Music

Teaching Awards

McGill University is on land which has long served as a site of meeting and exchange amongst Indigenous peoples, including the Haudenosaunee and Anishinabeg nations. We acknowledge and thank the diverse Indigenous people whose footsteps have marked this territory on which peoples of the world now gather.

L'Université McGill est sur un emplacement qui a longtemps servi de lieu de rencontre et d'échange entre les peuples autochtones, y compris les nations Haudenosaunee et Anishinabeg. Nous reconnaissons et remercions les divers peuples autochtones dont les pas ont marqué ce territoire sur lequel les peuples du monde entier se réunissent maintenant.