Announcing the 2019 Baxter Family Competition Winners


Published: 2Apr2019

The Faculty of Law and the Peter MacKell Chair in Federalism are delighted to announce the winners of the 2018-2019 Baxter Family Competition:

  1. First Prize: Jan Raeimon Nato (BCL/LLB candidate, McGill University, Montreal) – $5,000
    “Duties of Federal Loyalty: Lessons to Learn, Conversations to be Had”
  2. Second Prize: Berihun Gebeye (SJD Candidate, Central European University, Budapest) – $3,000
    “ Federal Theory and Federalism in Africa”
  3. Third Prize (ex-aequo) – $1000, to be shared:
    • Rafael Viotti Schlobach (BCL, University of São Paulo, São Paulo)
      “ Homogeneity Clauses in Federal Countries: A Comparative Analysis”
    • Catherine Mathieu (DCL candidate, McGill University, Montreal)
      “ L’initiative constitutionnelle comme élément déclencheur de la réforme du fédéralisme canadien"
  4. Special jury mention: Breanne Lavallee-Heckert (BCL/LLB candidate, McGill University, Montreal)
    “ ‘The Space in Between’: Métis Self-Governance within the Canadian Federation”

The winners will be presenting their papers at a Symposium held on 11 May 2019 starting at 11:30 at McGill University’s Thomson House (3650, McTavish St.)

This event will coincide the Younger Comparativists Conference of the the American Society of Comparative Law, which is being held 10-11 May, 2019 at McGill.

To attend the Symposium (luncheon served), email at marie-helene.lyonnais [at]

We thank our jury and our many participants. To find out more about the contest and to see the winning texts, visit the Competition’s home page.

About the competition

The Competition is organized through the Peter MacKell Chair in Federalism and has been made possible through the generous support of two alumni of McGill’s Faculty of Law: Rachel Baxter (BSc’84, BCL’88) and Colin Baxter (BCL’90, LLB’90).  The overarching goal of this prestigious bi-annual competition is to advance research and foster informed debate on federalism amongst young jurists. The first edition of the Baxter Family Competition on Federalism coincided with the 150th anniversary of the Canadian Confederation of 1867.