Working Group on Principles of Commemoration and Renaming

On this page: MembershipConsultations

Working Group on Principles of Commemoration and Renaming

Terms of Reference

In response to our changing legal and moral standards, universities and other institutions have confronted calls for change – for instance that they cease commemorating a historical figure whose legacy no longer seems so worthy of celebration or that they change a name, for example that of a scholarship or building. With this broad context in mind, the Provost and Vice-Principal (Academic) has recently mandated Dean Anja Geitmann and Dean Robert Leckey to co-chair a Working Group on Principles of Commemoration and Renaming. The Working Group will recommend principles to guide the University in responding to calls for change in relation to naming and commemorative practices. The Working Group will submit a final report to the Provost at the end of 2018.

The Working Group is committed to consulting broadly and to benefiting from a wide range of perspectives and suggestions. We will invite a representative set of student and community groups to make brief presentations to the Working Group in March. We will hold open Town Hall meetings in September at which members of the University community will be able to share views on our draft report. In the meantime, there is an immediate opportunity to submit written submissions.

Written submissions

The Working Group welcomes brief written submissions from individual members of the University community and from on-campus groups (e.g., unions, student associations, clubs, media organizations). Submissions speaking directly to the principles that might guide McGill in responding to calls for change in relation to naming and commemorative practices would be extremely helpful. We recognize, though, that framing principles applicable to a range of cases is ultimately the task of the Working Group and that individuals might prefer to anchor their submissions to a particular case or cases.

Submissions, which should not exceed two pages, should be a Word or PDF attachment sent to commemoration.renaming [at] (this address). If the submission is made on behalf of a constituency, please indicate it clearly.

Groupe de travail sur les principes régissant la commémoration et les changements de nom


En raison de l’évolution des normes juridiques et morales au sein de notre société, les universités et autres institutions sont appelées à changer leurs façons de faire, notamment en cessant d’honorer la mémoire de personnages historiques dont l’héritage ne semble plus digne d’être célébré ou en modifiant le nom d’une bourse d’études ou d’un pavillon. Dans un tel contexte, le vice-principal exécutif et vice-principal aux études a récemment demandé à la doyenne Anja Geitmann et au doyen Robert Leckey de coprésider un Groupe de travail sur les principes régissant la commémoration et les changements de nom. Le Groupe de travail recommandera des principes directeurs permettant à l’Université de donner suite aux demandes de changement en matière de commémoration et de nom. Les membres du Groupe de travail présenteront un rapport final au vice-principal exécutif à la fin de 2018.

Le Groupe de travail entend mener de vastes consultations et s’inspirer des commentaires et des suggestions de la communauté mcgilloise. En mars, nous inviterons un groupe représentatif composé d’étudiants et de membres d’associations communautaires à faire de brèves présentations au Groupe de travail. En septembre, nous organiserons des assemblées générales ouvertes pendant lesquelles les membres de la communauté universitaire auront l’occasion de s’exprimer sur la version préliminaire de notre rapport. Entre-temps, ils sont invités à nous soumettre dès maintenant leurs observations écrites.

Observations écrites

Le Groupe de travail examinera avec intérêt toutes les observations écrites soumises par des membres de la communauté universitaire et des groupes de l’Université McGill (p. ex., syndicats, associations étudiantes, clubs, organes médiatiques). Les observations portant sur les principes devant guider l’Université lors des commémorations et des changements de nom seront particulièrement utiles. Nous reconnaissons toutefois que l’encadrement de ces principes dans leur ensemble relève essentiellement du Groupe de travail et que les membres de notre communauté pourraient préférer formuler des observations portant sur un ou des cas en particulier.

Les observations, présentées dans un document en format Word ou PDF d’une longueur maximale de deux pages, doivent nous parvenir par courriel à commemoration.renaming [at] (cette adresse). Si les observations sont formulées au nom d’un groupe, le document doit en faire clairement mention.

 Members / Membres

Anja Geitmann, Co-chair, Dean, Faculty of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences

Robert Leckey, Co-chair, Dean, Faculty of Law

Pascal Brissette, Professor and Chair of the Department of French Language and Literature

Charmaine Nelson, Professor of Art History



Cindy Blackstock, Professor, School of Social Work

Stuart Cobbett, Chair Emeritus, Board of Governors

Cynthia Price Verreault, Board of Governors

Yves Lapointe, Director and University Archivist


Dianne Fagan, Director, Strategic Initiatives

Tynan Jarrett, Employment Equity Advisor

Kelvin Mansaray, undergraduate student, History

Alexandra Stewart, graduate student, Education


Dominic Bell, Law graduate and former university athlete









The Working Group will consult broadly as it completes its work. A schedule of public meetings will be maintained here.

Town Hall Wednesday, September 12, 2018 5:00 - 7:00 pm

Downtown campus

(exact location tbc)

Town Hall Wednesday, September 26, 2018 5:00 - 7:00 pm

Macdonald campus

(exact location tbc)