The McGill University Medal for Exceptional Academic Achievement

In order to acknowledge retired members of McGill University's academic staff who are uniquely deserving in light of their exceptional contributions to their discipline, to the University and to society at large, the University established a Medal for Exceptional Academic Achievement (the McGill Medal).  

Nominations for the McGill Medal are reviewed by the Principal's Advisory Committee for the Conferral of the McGill University Medal for Exceptional Academic Achievement, which is chaired by the Provost and Vice-Principal (Academic). The Advisory Committee makes recommendations to the Honorary Degrees and Convocations Committee, which in turn makes recommendations to Senate. 

The terms of reference of the McGill Medal can be found here.

Past winners of the McGill Medal


Jorge Angeles - Faculty of Engineering


Brenda Milner - Faculty of Medicine


John Bergeron - Faculty of Medicine

Philip Branton - Faculty of Medicine

Donald Taylor - Faculty of Science


No winner


Roderick Macdonald - Faculty of Law


No winner


Margaret Lock - Faculty of Medicine/Faculty of Arts


No winner


Aberto J. Aguayo - Faculty of Medicine

Adi Eisenberg - Faculty of Science

Lawrence Mysak - Faculty of Science